‘Sana Dati’ : All the things in a day

Sana-Dati-Cinemalaya

It was first time watching a Cinemalaya movie by Jerrold Tarog. ( I watched on Aug.4, Sunday). I hate myself for missing the first 15 mins of the movie. It’s wonderful, I love it!!! I would really want to watch it again at the big screen if only there’s a regular run. 😦

I like how the story spins around almost all during the wedding. Just a few scenes were on a different day after the wedding. And since I didn’t watch the first two, I didn’t know what to expect and the synopsis was too brief.

So the whole story unravels when Dennis (Paulo Avelino) comes to cover the wedding of Andrea (Lovi Poe). For me watching the movie felt like I was listening to a close friend’s story. It’s something one can see any day to anyone. It’s so real.

I love the music too. If only there’s an OST which I don’t really expect much to be released though and the ending song is beautiful. It doesn’t sound OPM to me, sort of like alternative rock.

And I love the scenes and the shots. They seem pretty simple but the way the subjects are captured are wonderful. I’m no expert at camera technicalities, one good example was the scene of a flower vase with a wilted flower at the shop speaks value to the story even though at first you might not understand the relevance but you feel there is.

Oh before I forget, I find Benjamin Alves (Andrew) so charming and good looking. Inititally, I also felt like there was an implied angle with Andrea and Dennis but maybe it’s just me. The movie was wonderfully 1 hour 30mins only.

Here’s Up Dharma Down’s “Indak” also featured in the film and the ending and trailer song Archipelago’s “MRI.” .

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gi1CI_ywyck

Leave a Reply

