In the world of books at the Manila International Book Fair

34th Manila International Book Fair

SMX Convention Center

Sept.15

I started reading English fiction novels during high school with Harry Potter and the Sorcere’s Stone.  Reason why Harry Potter is such an influential literary figure to me as it was the first ever fiction I’ve read. Most of the book I like came from the influence of my third older brother who shares the same interest in books. He recommends me books and most of the time I get to know new titles from him. However, I’m not really the type to buy new books every month or week. I’m really picky when it comes to books as I don’t want to waste money with a book I won’t like.  I may not have a huge collection of books but I treasure the ones I’ve collected so far.

I don’t really go to book fairs too, this was my first time. It’s something I can write about so I decided to go. And upon seeing that the MIBF has some events too like workshops, I got more interested. I would have wanted to attend like 4 or 5 forum/workshops but the others have fees. For the first time again since the last writing workshop I had for free with Rhea, I managed to attend Lampara’s first Children’s Writing Workshop. I had fun with the speakers and it was nice to learn something new, though I have never written any children’s story.

A children’s story is not as simple as it seem.  One of the speakers said that not because it’s a children’s story you always have to choose the usual and that you also need to think outside the box.  One should make the kids be the main character and not just simply wallflowers in the story just like Harry Potter. Harry and friends we’re mostly seen on their own not getting help from their parents.

I was happy to find out that they provided certificates as that is what I’m after too and they provided snacks too. I  also took home a give-away but I later found out they actually gave a catalogue though there were 2 GCs. 🙂

During the Q&A, Lampara’s publisher mentioned about translating Harry Potter, Hunger Games, Twilight into Filipino. He said he was fine with them in Tagalog but others seem to cringe at the sight of these novels in Filipino. I admit, I’m one of those who wondered why they have to translate the books in Filipino. But then maybe they wanted to make it more understandable especially for kids who are not so accustomed with English.

After the workshop, I went back to the fair and finally bought Shin Kyung-sook’s Please Look After Mother.  I’m not familiar with the author but I think the fact that she’s Korean attracted me to it. I first saw the book on Wednesday at Fully Booked’s booth and read the synopsis. Well it’s not a love story of a couple but I find it really interesting.  It’s about a family dealing with the disappearance of their mother and along the course of finding her, the grown-up children find out things they never knew about their mother. So I came back after the workshop and bought it.

I also bought a local made comics from Black Ink Comics at Precious Pages booth. It is so much like a manga, I mean the illustration just that it’s very short and a 3 story in 1 type.  I did like reading it but then since it’s just really short I quickly finished it. It was a feel good and sweet (3) stories but I hope they can make it longer though, something that would be as long as a manga volume.

And yes, I bought two children’s book: My Father, the Shape Shifter and Tuwing Sabado. I also got one from Psicom publishing, another local made chic-lit 14 Sundays, the classic Christmas Carol and Little Pink Book on Gab which is sort of like a guide book for girls on their speech manners.

This Diary ng Panget is such a trend in local lit right now. Nung una akala ko, manga paano ba naman ang cover manga style eh hindi pala. But Psicom actually has a Filipino language manga but of course, illustration is very much Japanese.

Manga/anime magazines, learn to speak and write Japanese and how to draw manga are so much cheaper here than buying at Fully Booked.

This is another creative booth. Dr. Seuss

Tahanan Publishing wins the best booth for me. It’s so pretty parang fiesta. It’s like Pahiyas Fiesta here.

At the Lampara Writing Workshop Meeting Rm 8, SMX Convention 2nd Flr

At the Lampara Writing Workshop Meeting Rm 8, SMX Convention 2nd Flr

Food for the day: Chicken satay and morning glory

Leave a Reply

