Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage

tumblr_mt04mr3RGn1rwpmd7o2_400

 

Found out today that Murakami’s new book “Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage” published just this April will be translated in English first half next year as I was reading an Inquirer article about him being a favorite for Nobel Prize.

According to yukaripeerless.ca, “Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage” is a story of Tsukuru, who was a part of a group of five high school best friends. They were all in a high school in Nagoya, two girls and three boys. They were inseparable. Four kids out of five had a color in their names. Mr. Red, Mr. Blue, Miss White and Miss Black. Tsukuru’s last name is Tazaki – a relatively normal family name without any color in it -hence, he is “Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki”.

I’m serious I’m going to like this one. Kinda reminds me of Norwegian Wood too but still very much different. I haven’t read 1Q84 and I don’t know if I’ll ever read it. I still remember how Paolo, my college classmate recommended me Hard Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World but I ended up buying Norwegian Wood.

I especially like this quote too.  When he quotes, it just hits you.

“Then finally he was able to accept everything. Tsukuru Tazaki understood it at the bottom of his soul. People’s hearts are not linked only by harmonies. Rather, they are connected deeply by scars and scars. Tied by pains, and by vulnerabilities.”

— Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage – Haruki Murakami

Leave a Reply

