The anime convention experience

It was a pretty busy September 2nd weekend as I attended both for the first time the Manila International Book Fair and Best of Anime at the SMX Convention on the 14th and 15th  despite the rains. And like I usually do, I went alone. I was supposed to have Anna and Kat with me during the writing workshop on the 14th but both backed out days before due to other commitments. As for the anime convention, I was inviting my high school friend Salia but her schedule couldn’t make it.

I got more interested in attending the anime convention as I found out Joe Inoue who sang Closer, one of the many many Naruto Shippuden opening songs is going to be there to perform. I don’t know anything about him though except the fact that he sang Closer. Just the mention of Naruto was enough to make me go although the ticket was quite expensive.

I didn’t go as early as I planned cause I got worried about the tickets but good thing there still are tickets when I arrived at around 3PM. As I got in, I was surprised that the first thing I saw was a Harry Potter booth. Isn’t this supposed to be an anime convention? Why is there a Harry Potter booth then? But anyway, I quickly got over the thought and went to check out the items. As expected, expensive replica of wands and other memorabilia were displayed and some fan made shirts. I initially wanted the mini poster the one that says, “Undesirable No. 1” and with Harry’s photo but I find it too expensive to be 100. Then I saw another booth selling Harry Potter shirts, I really wanted to get the Gryffindor maroon shirt and Hogwarts sweat shirt but had to think twice.

Hodge Podge, I discovered this here. They sell accessories made of bottle caps. That’s really creative and very environment friendly too. I bought an orange bookmark and orange bracelet. Of course, it had to be orange that even the girl told me, “Favorite color mo orange?” I just smiled.

Cute anime action figures. Minato’s kunai is also here at 160 but it doesn’t seem to look much like his special kunai because his is somewhat curve not triangle shape.

Of course, anime mini action figures are not to be missed. I didn’t buy though as I know these are expensive and they don’t have a Minato action figure. And then there are also large action figures of Goku and Doraemon and even the likes of Iron Man joined in the massive anime world.

I expected more booths though. I was particularly looking for someone selling a Naruto OST but found none. There’s this booth with CDs but I didn’t look further and they seem to be non-anime CDs. Then I saw this manga shop the moment I turned to the other side. I feel my eyes smiling as I saw a very thick Rurouni Kenshin and Death Note mangas. When I asked, the girl told me they’re 7 in 1 that’s why a lot more expensive at 700 each. I also wanted to get Yamato Nadeshiko, I love this one too and it’s the cheapest at 300. But, but Naruto showed its face to me so I got distracted instantly. I’ve long wanted to buy manga but just can’t since it’s expensive, though thinking about it; it’s just like a regular fiction book just that you can’t buy any less than 300. I didn’t get Naruto Vol. 61 right away but I really wanted it. And then when I saw Joe Inoue signing for some fans onstage and the MC said that those with Naruto merchandise should line up now to get them signed. So I thought, I should really get Vol. 61 and went back but when I asked the staff if I can still line up, he said no.


On a quite sad note, I did see quite a lot of Naruto cosplayers but didn’t get to take a photo of them as they keep running around from here to there. I wasn’t sure if this one guy I saw was cosplaying Naruto or Minato, I got confused but since he had the coat so I thought it was Minato. I didn’t see her but I saw from photos posted on BOA’s official page, a girl cosplayed Sasuke and there was also Tobi and other Akatsuki members.Since, there aren’t any more booths to see I decided to check the Japan Foundation manga library. I wonder if I go to their office if it’s free to read there too. I had my name written in Japanese too from the Japan Foundation staff, I don’t know how to read it though but I like it! I remember getting something like this in Singapore but in Chinese of course. I was reading Naruto Vol. 4 while waiting for Joe’s finale performance. I managed to finish the volume before Joe started singing a Naruto song. I couldn’t capture completely the other two Naruto songs namely Haruka Kanata by Asian Kungfu Generation and Fighting Dreams by Flow. Even Closer, his own song, I only managed to record about half I guess. My fault, it wasn’t initially in my plan to do fancam since I said I’m just going to watch but ended up doing fancam when he was performing Naruto songs. It was so much like I was in his own mini concert, Japanese for a first for me.

I had my name written in Japanese by one of the staff from Japanese Foundation. I don’t know how to read it though. :))) I remember getting my name written in Chinese too in Singapore.

Japan Foundation’s manga library. Read manga for free, I finished Naruto Vol. 4 here while waiting for Joe Inoue’s performance.

The Mogu-Mogu cosplayer, should I call him cosplayer? Yeah I think I can call him that. He’s the star of the night; everyone likes to be take photos with him. I would have wanted too but since I was alone, I just took a photo when some other cosplayers posed with him. He’s so cute!

Oh and when I went out of the hall, I saw Shikamaru and Temari who seem to be waiting for a taxi. I wanted to approach them like in all seriousness to take a photo of them but I got shy. I didn’t want to be obviously taking a photo of them. When I started walking, they started walking behind me so I kept looking behind if they went the other way. So I had them walk ahead so I could take a photo while they’re walking but I couldn’t take a decent one until I lost sight of them. Seeing the cosplayers Shikamaru and Temari remind me of Naruto Shippuden Ep. 1 when Naruto saw them together and he asked if they’re dating. ㅋㅋㅋㅋ

Si Shikamaru at si Temari naglalakad sa Mall of Asia after Best of Anime. ㅋㅋㅋㅋ Ganda ng malaking fan ni Temari, galing!
I actually wanted to take a photo of them kaso nahiya ako kaya hinayaan ko sila mauna so I could take a photo of them walking.

Anime and manga magazines from Psicom.

Being a big Naruto fangirl, I had to take a photo of this banner from Naruto Cosplayers.

Joe Inoue during meet and greet

Don’t know his name since I’m not so familiar with the cosplayers but he’s foreign and one of the judges of the Cosplay Show.

My fancams of Joe Inoue’s performances of Fighting Dreames, Haruka Kanata and his own song Closer

Leave a Reply

