My thoughts: J.K. Rowling Says Hermione Should Have Ended Up With Harry Potter, Not Ron

Harry-Hermione-harry-and-hermione-32140637-500-421

This was the first thing I saw once I opened my Facebook newsfeed yesterday. A friend, ate Grace shared a news article from ABS-CBN news online with title, “Hermione should have married Harry Potter: Rowling.”

Ms. Rowling says in the article, “Am I breaking people’s hearts by saying this? I hope not.” She already did, a million times more to millions of fans. What do I think about it? As a huge fan of the book series and film franchise, it broke my heart completely, into small shredded pieces. As much as I love her for creating Harry Potter and being a large part of my growing up years, she still broke my heart.

harry___hermione_by_sarittrianaglez-d2z5jes

Yes, you are Ms. Rowling. You are breaking people’s hearts with this revelation.

Here’s what Rowling said, in excerpts printed by British newspaper The Sunday Times:

“I wrote the Hermione/Ron relationship as a form of wish fulfillment,” she says. “That’s how it was conceived, really. For reasons that have very little to do with literature and far more to do with me clinging to the plot as I first imagined it, Hermione ended up with Ron.”

She says the Ron – Hermione relationship is a form of wish fulfillment. She conceived the idea probably during the time she’s writing the first book. She’s already firm about what kind of character or person Ron, Hermione and Harry are. She’s definite with this and probably the reason why she made Hermione end up with Ron because she perfectly knows who Ron is and who Hermione is.

First thing, I think she didn’t want Ron to be left out in the corner. Being a Weasley, always being talked down by fellow full-bloods despite the fact that his family has good reputation in the wizarding world; minus the fact that they can’t seem to make ends meet. Still, the Weasley family has always been a great family.

Harry-Hermione-harry-ron-and-hermione-32905104-1200-788

Ron may have “The Boy Who Lived” Harry for a best friend but we all know, it has always cast some shadow on Ron being just the best friend and somewhat a sidekick. Harry is a best friend and a contender for Ron in almost all things. They do share similar worries and some insults and mistreatment from their classmates though. At the same time, Harry was never short of insults from their classmates too, that he has no parents and all.

From the start, I’ve always had the feeling that Hermione should be with Harry, although I was always aware of the fact that JK Rowling was slowly building-up the Ron-Hermione relationship. I got so disappointed when Ginny’s huge crush to Harry was being hinted that they’ll end up together, but I still had my hopes up then. I was delighted when Cho Chang came into the picture, but their relationship turned sour so disappointed again. That’s then, we all knew it’s going to be Ginny and when couldn’t do anything about it. There should have been a petition about Harry-Hermione, like seriously.

Harrymione-harry-and-hermione-11692933-1702-1699

Honestly, there wasn’t even a development in the Harry – Ginny relationship as compared to Harry – Hermione. He knew she’s had a big crush on him since she met him but it never actually progressed into something romantic. It’s like, Rowling didn’t feel the need to show progression to the relationship because it’s just the way things are. I don’t have control over it; I’m not the writer but just saying. They just threw Ginny in the picture and that’s it. Same thing with Ron-Hermione, Ron’s had a big crush on Hermione for long but Hermione just didn’t have it for him. It’s like she just didn’t have a choice, like it was forced. Some say that she intended for Harry to end up with Ginny so he can be part of the Weasley family. But still, Harry and Hermione were genuine.

harry-potter-hermione

Hermione started as this know-it-all, temperamental little girl and slowly became one of Harry’s best friends. She was more there for Harry than Ron ever was. And along the way, this is where Hermione and Harry built feelings for each other – more than being best friends. It was there, everyone knows it. There was an obvious spark of attraction. While I do agree at one comment that Harry and Hermione had an intellectual relationship, I know there are feelings there, feelings of love. It just so happened that Ron got in the way, and Harry and Hermione had to push those feelings at the back of their hearts and consciousness, as they valued the friendship more.

Harry-Hermione-harry-potters-women-672466_1024_768

The Harry- Hermione spark was so obvious. Rowling just noticed the obvious too late, just too late. While her initial intention was for Ron and Hermione to end up together, along the way, it was Harry and Hermione who really had genuine feelings for each other. This just happened as the story progressed and their friendship grew, unconsciously for Rowling she made the Harry and Hermione love angle without knowing it.

tumblr_static_harry-hermione-harry-ron-and-hermione-30839475-500-374_large

All these are my thoughts and opinions. I can’t hate J.K. Rowling if she has chosen to reveal this ‘mistake’ because she has all the right to say whatever she needs to say. I respect her as an author and will always love Harry Potter. I’m not just saying this because I ship Harry and Hermione a whole lot but because it is real. It was there. But no matter what happened, for me it was always Harry and Hermione.

Harmony-Fan-Art-harry-and-hermione-16122703-500-380

[ Photo credits to owners and in watermark. ]

 

4 thoughts on “My thoughts: J.K. Rowling Says Hermione Should Have Ended Up With Harry Potter, Not Ron

Leave a Reply

