The Deep Blue Sea & Suite Francaise with The Invisible Woman

1013835_784905564856595_1967686527_n

I finally have the books in my hands!!! Just last week, my fourth brother’s girlfriend arrived from Singapore for a brief vacation. All thanks to my brother’s girlfriend who bought the books for me at an online bookshop in Singapore. At least, I only have to pay these when her credit card’s due.

I arrived from work on a Wednesday, 29th of January, the first thing I saw on my table is Tom Hiddleston on the cover of “The Deep Blue Sea”, and my heart skip a beat. Just so happy.

download

First Official Image From ‘Suite Francaise’ Starring Michelle Williams & Matthias Schoenaerts (http://blogs.indiewire.com/)

These two gorgeous pieces are the latest books I’ve acquired for this year. Both authors, I mean the other one is a playwright, Terence Rattigan is a British playwright. I haven’t heard their names before to be honest. I know nothing about them. However, my professor of a brother told  me about Suite Francaise few months ago. He told me that it already has a movie in the works starring Michelle Williams, Kritin Scott-Thomas. It’s probably in post-production now, as according to Wiki, filming is done.

There wasn’t any trailer available yet as far as I know, but it quite striked an interest with me despite the wartime and Nazi occupation setting. This genre isn’t one of my favorites to read, but I just recently read Sally Gardner’s “The Red Necklace” (while listening to an audiobook narrated by none other than Tom Hiddleston) which is set during the French Revolution and I loved it.

Suite Francaise, the book is the title of a planned sequence of five novels by Irene Nemirovsky. She completed the first two of the series when she was arrested and detained as a Jew. Her daughters preserved the two novels and were published later in 2004 in a single volume – Suite Francaise. ( Wikipedia)

There are (3) novels: Storm in June, Dolce and Captivity. All novels are mainly about portraying life in France during the Nazi occupation. In the film, it centres on a romance between a French villager (Michelle Williams) and a German soldier (Matthias Schoenaerts). 

2011_the_deep_blue_sea_002

Movie stills ( http://bucketreviews.com/) Love this scene.

As for “The Deep Blue Sea,” I discovered this through the recent film adaptation starring Rachel Weisz and Tom Hiddleston in the lead roles, for the centenary celebration of Terence Rattigan. I am so in love with the film. It is such a beautiful piece of art and ultimately amazing performances from both Rachel Weisz and Tommy. Tom’s role as Freddie Page is actually one of my favorite roles of his now. I can’t hate the guy, he’s not a total scoundrel. He has a heart and I know he also loves Hester (Rachel Weisz). And since I love the film so much, I decided I want to read the play. And luckily, Blue (brother’s girlfriend) found it online in Singapore. And now here it is. I’m in the process of reading it now and loving it.

Oh, “The Deep Blue Sea” is an adaptation of the 1952 Terence Rattigan play and a remake of the 1955 film of the same title about the wife of a judge who engages in an affair with a former RAF (Royal Air Force) pilot.

Tom-Hiddleston-The-Deep-Blue-Sea-Movie-Stills-tom-hiddleston-26445563-1400-932

Another movie stills ( fanpop.com). Gosh, this is the most romantic dance scene ever. I love it to bits.

This is the first time I’m ever reading a play. It’s a bit strange for me, I feel I’m reading a film script with all the description of the character movements and set-up. If I had magic, I would have made it a novel. I still prefer it to be a novel because it’s longer and it’s all really up to a reader to imagine it while reading. Like turning the novel into a film in his/her mind. In any case, it’s still a fresh nice experience to read a play. There are actually things that differed in the book of the play and in the movie. I would be so chuffed to see it have a new play version in London’s West End, of course with the cast of the recent adaptation.

invisible_woman_xlg

Poster from //www.impawards.com/

There’s also another book I’m still waiting. Blue has already ordered it but it’s a special order so it may take (3) weeks for her to collect it at Raffles. Crossing my fingers, we’ll get it. The title is Claire Tomalin’s “The Invisible Woman” about Charles Dickens and his affair to a young actress that he kept a secret until his passing. The film adaptation stars the great Ralph Fiennes as Dickens and Felicity Jones as Nelly Ternan, the young actress. I’m so intrigued with it so I want to read the book before the film. I’m not a big fan of Dickens actually and know not much about him but I love the trailer. I’m just animated about the book as I am on the film, I just have to have it.

Leave a Reply

