Hotel King Ep. 1 – The Reception

 

Lee Dong-wook as Cha Jae-wan, the hotel manager.   Damn, I effin love the poster. It’s creatively beautiful.

Done with Ep. 1 and what the heck I’m impressed! It starts off really straight, with a strong tension that will keep you thinking. Lee Dong-wook is a whole lot more cold, as in extremely cold and menacing here from his Seol Gong-chan from My Girl. LDW is simply remarkable from the very start.  

I remember it was from the drama My Girl that I met Lee Dong-wook, and boy was I immediately captivated with his really handsome face. The snobbish and cold Seol Gong-chan became his trademark role for me. And because of that drama, he became one of the very first Korean actors that I really like. And yes of course, that’s where I got to know Lee Da-hae too. I remember too, Seol Gong-chan (LDW) in My Girl is the heir to this big hotel, but other than this Seol Gong-chan and Cha Jae-wan are way too different when it comes to their personalities and background. 

A huge reason for me watching this drama is Lee Dong-wook. Second big reason is it’s the reunion project of Lee Dong-wook and Lee Da-hae as I really, really like them in My Girl. The LDW-LDH pairing is one of my most favorite pairings. They’re on top of my elite and best Kdrama couple list. And My Girl is one of my ultimate most favorite Korean dramas ever.  Naturally, I got really excited when I heard about this; as you know it’s a bit unusual in Kdrama or Kmovie land for actors who starred together years ago and work with each other again. I’m just so thrilled to see them together again for a new drama, and I’m just perfectly happy to see how they’ve become such close friends since My Girl. 

My Girl cast. Always one of my ultimate favorite Korean dramas ever.

My Girl cast. Always one of my ultimate favorite Korean dramas ever.

Well back to the drama, it is said that Cha Jae-wan (Lee Dong-wook) and Ah Moh-ne (Lee Da-hae) are siblings. Hmm… But I’m keeping my tabs on this, I’m sure there will be something. It’s pretty interesting that they are introduced in the drama as siblings but I see many are reacting on this. Of course, My Girl fans would definitely not want them to be purely siblings in the drama.

On a side note, I somehow feel like LDH’s Ah Moh-ne is annoying. Like seriously. She was so lovable as Joo Yoo-rin in My Girl, but here – she’s definitely annoying. I can already feel it from this episode. I noticed how she was so much prettier back to My Girl days.

Lee Dong-wook and Lee Da-hae in My Girl

Lee Dong-wook and Lee Da-hae in My Girl

Lee Da-hae was asked from the press con if her character is similar to Jun Ji-hyun’s Chun Song-yi from You Came From The Stars. She answered that Ah Moh-ne and Chun Song-yi are different, and that her character’s clumsiness and bubbly attitude are just for a show and not who she really is. 

She is right actually.  Ah Moh-ne is no Chun Song-yi. Song-yi is never pretending. She always likes to be true to herself and to others. When she’s angry, she’s angry. When she’s sad, she cries. When she’s desperate, she’s really desperate. When she likes you, she really tells you she likes you. Ah Moh-ne just like how she is described in the story is the Korean Paris Hilton, so think Paris Hilton and that’s how she is.

The cast of MBC’s new weekend drama Hotel King


I’d like to highlight too how I just love the first appearance of Kim Hae-soo as the senior manager. She’s sassy and domineering. 

For Seulong, I don’t know how important his character is going to be in the story yet. However, I’m a bit confused as to what really is his character. The acting is a bit off to be honest. I’m not sure if he’s this immature and overly emotional hotel staff, or if it’s simply the acting problem. 

I’m also curious as to what is Wang Ji-hye’s role in the story. How is she going to be related to Cha Jae-wan or Ah Moh-ne or the rest of the cast?

I’m also seeing a lot of familiar faces from the supporting cast. From the chairman, vice chairman, even to the hotel staff with Seulong, and the other high-ranking hotel staff with Lee Dong-wook during a car scene. 

 

Leave a Reply

