So many books, so little money

I managed to still go check out the books at the Manila International Book Fair on its last day today. Good thing, they had the book fair extended until 10pm for those who didn’t make it yesterday or Friday due to the typhoon.

Last year, I bought one novel “Please Look After Mother” by Shin Kyung-sook; Naruto Vol. 62 although I bought this one at the anime convention; one book from OMF Literature; two from Black Ink Comics; one chick-lit that I gave to Salia; and three from Lampara. 

Photo0703

This time, however, I decided to go with two novels: Haruki Murakami’s “Blind Willow Sleeping Woman” because it’s my first Murakami short story collection and Shin Kyung-sook’s “I’ll Be Right There,” because I think it’s as good as the the first book of her I read or even better. And because I bought two novels, it’s more expensive but both came with discounts. I was still able to save from the discounts.

Now, I’ve got a line-up of books waiting to be read with these two new additions. I still have yet to finish “The Invisible Woman,” although I’m halfway there.  And my copy of “Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage” by Haruki Murakami, courtesy of my brother Jorge and my aunt Mary Ann will be arriving soon. These two will have to wait a little longer, as I’ve decided to read “Tsukuru Tazaki” after “The Invisible Woman.”

And last but not the least, I got these really cute To-Do List ng Pasaway and Chorva pads from Tahanan Books. I so love their paperbag, so I decided to buy the bigger notepad so I can have one.

Sadly, I wasn’t able to buy any manga this time. I just recently bought a hefty and expensive one with Rurouni Kenshin Big Volume 6 during the Asian Premiere of Kyoto Inferno. I almost wanted to get one earlier but I didn’t have enough with me. I decided as well to not attend the Best of Anime Convention this time. I find the entrance ticket quite expensive really. Although if I arrived much earlier today, I still would have checked it out. What I like about the convention are the live performances and the manga library courtesy of the Japanese Foundation. Last year, I bought Naruto Vol. 61 at the convention, although I saw a pile of manga titles at the Fully Booked booth but I had to decide between another novel and one manga.

If only the organizers decided to extend the anime convention, especially since most people couldn’t come due to the bad weather. The same thing goes for the Manila International Book Fair, as there are requests on Facebook to have it extended until next week because they couldn’t come. As for me, I’m lucky because I was still able to go to one of the events.

Photo0706
Photo0708

 

Leave a Reply

