Norwegian Wood: A letter to Toru

When I saw this nicely illustrated letter some days ago on Pinterest, it instantly made me want to browse through the pages of “Norwegian Wood”, more so because this is a part from Midori.

It’s been years since I decided to pick up Norwegian Wood and read it despite initially looking for Wind-Up Bird Chronicle, the one recommended by a classmate from college. I didn’t find Wind-Up Bird at A Different Bookstore at Greenhills and that’s how I ended up discovering Norwegian Wood and falling in love with it. This book is also why I adore the name Midori.

I got the Vintage International, September 2000 edition, so it’s like five or six years later, maybe 2005 or 2006 when I read it. Amazingly, the pages are still intact but of course, it has shown its years with its now dark brown pages and its woody scent.

And since then, it’s always been one of my most favorite novels and my top Murakami book, until “Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage” came along in 2014 (read in 2015) and dethroned it from its number one spot.

 

e0000d6fb8e64c29db6ac010c72d1ca6

From the start, I’ve always rooted for Midori for Toru in this story. And this letter of Midori to Toru from page 252 is one testament of how much I love this character.

These following parts of this letter simply make my literary heart aflutter.

“I would have been able to forgive you for being sunk in a million thoughts.”

“Go ahead and think away to your heart’s content.”

“You’re all locked up in that little world of yours, and when I try knocking on the door, you just sort of look up for a second and go right back inside.”

“But you’re about as sensitive as a steel plate.”

Leave a Reply

